Wrocław (Polish: Wrocław) is the fourth largest city in the country of our northern neighbor. On the map you can find it in the southwest of Poland, where it is the center of the Lower Silesian Voivodeship. More than 640000 inhabitants live here permanently.

Sights Wroclaw

Market Square – the main Wrocław Square, which you definitely must not miss when visiting the city. You can find it in the Old Town district and in the Middle Ages it was one of the largest markets in all of Europe. Today it is a pedestrian zone and you will find two of the largest town halls in all of Poland.

Tum Island – is the oldest part of the city. In addition to the beautiful botanical garden, you can see mainly the Cathedral of St. John the Baptist.

The island of Písek – here you can see the Church of the Virgin Mary in Písek in the Gothic style and also the Baroque church of St. Anne and in the same style the former Augustinian monastery.

The main seat of the University of Wrocław – a beautiful Baroque building with a unique Auditorium.

Ossolineum – a historic monastery, which is today the seat of the National Institute of Ossolinsky, which is an important cultural and also scientific institution.

The main building of the National Museum – a neo-Gothic building that every visitor will surely visit with a love of museums.

Świdnicka Street – the main street in the historic center itself. If you follow it, you will get directly to the Market Square.

Hydropolis – an interesting and popular science center and water theme. The exhibition area is located in a historical neo-Gothic underground reservoir.

Administrative units of Wrocław

For easier orientation and official acts, Wrocław is divided into 48 territorially administrative units, or housing estates. Their names in alphabetical order are:

  • Bieńkowice
  • Biskupin – Sępolno – Dąbie – Bartoszowice
  • Borek
  • Brochów
  • Gaj
  • Gajowice
  • Gądów – Popowice Południowe
  • Grabiszyn – Grabiszynek
  • Huby
  • Jagodno
  • Jerzmanowo – Jarnołtów – Strachowice – Osiniec
  • Karłowice – Różanka
  • Klecina
  • Kleczków
  • Kowale
  • Krzyki – Partynice
  • Księże
  • Kuźniki
  • Leśnica
  • Lipa Piotrowska
  • Maślice
  • Muchobór Mały
  • Muchobór Wielki
  • Nadodrze
  • Nowy Dwór
  • Ołbin
  • Ołtaszyn
  • Oporów
  • Osobowice – Rędzin
  • Pawłowice
  • Pilczyce – Kozanów – Popowice Północne
  • Plac Grunwaldzki
  • Polanowice – Poświętne – Ligota
  • Powstańców Śląskich
  • Pracze Odrzańskie
  • Przedmieście Oławskie
  • Przedmieście Świdnickie
  • Psie Pole – Zawidawie
  • Sołtysowice
  • Stare Miasto
  • Strachocin – Swojczyce – Wojnów
  • Szczepin
  • Świniary
  • Tarnogaj
  • Widawa
  • Wojszyce
  • Zacisze – Zalesie – Szczytniki
  • Żerniki

Public transport Wroclaw

As in other large cities, public transport plays a very important role in Wrocław for movement in the city. Even if you come to the city with your own car, when moving in the city, you will not have problems when using public transport, especially in the city center.

In Wrocław, the backbone of urban transport is the tram. It has a total of 33 lines, which are then supplemented by buses, including suburban ones. Part of the transport is also a funicular railway.

Transport to Wroclaw

The fastest and most convenient is, of course, air transport. Of course, Wroclaw has its own international airport, which can be found about 10 kilometers from the city center.
Rynek Starego Miasta We Wroclawiu (152991773)